Disaster Management Centre (DMC) is the leading agency for disaster management in Sri Lanka. It is mandated with the responsibility of implementing and coordinating national and sub-national level programmes for reducing the risk of disasters with the participation of all relevant stakeholders.
DMC was established as per the provisions of the Sri Lanka Disaster Management Act No. 13 of 2005 as the executing agency of the National Council for Disaster Management (NCDM).

The main activities of the Disaster Management Centre (DMC) are Research and Development, Mitigation, Planning Preparedness, Dissemination of Early Warning for the vulnerable population, Emergency Response, Coordination of Relief and Post Disaster Activities in collaboration with other key agencies.

In order to facilitate the coordination and implement all DMC activities, Disaster Management Committees were established at District, Divisional, Grama Niladhari Wasams, across the country. Also District Disaster Management Coordination Units (DDMCU) were established in all districts to carry out Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) activities at the sub national level.


Safer communities and sustainable development in Sri Lanka.


To create a culture of safety among communities and the nation at large through systematic management of natural, technological, and manmade disaster risks.

The principal functions of the DMC under the said Act are to

Assisting the Council in the preparation of the National Disaster Management Plan and the National Emergency Operation Plan and proposals for upgrading the same when it becomes necessary

Taking responsibility for the implementation of the National Disaster Management Plan and the National Emergency Operation Plan, and upon the declaration of a state of disaster to direct and coordinate the implementation of the National Emergency Operation plan

  • Ensuring that the various Disaster Management Plans prepared by Ministries, Government Departments or public corporations conforms to the National Disaster Management Plan
  • Based on Disaster Management Plans prepared by various Ministries, Government Departments and public corporations under section 10, preparing and implementing programmes and plans for disaster preparedness, mitigation, prevention, relief, rehabilitation and reconstruction activities and coordinating of organizations which implement such programmes and plans and obtain financial assistance form the Treasury for such activities and release the same to the relevant regions and monitor and evaluate these activities
  • Issuing instructions and guidelines to appropriate organizations, non-governmental organizations, district secretaries and divisional secretaries on activities relating to disaster management and initiating and implementing work programmes in co-ordination with such organizations and secretaries
  • Promoting research and development programmes in relation to disaster management and setting up and maintaining a data base on disaster management
  • Submitting reports to the Council from time to time and whenever required by the Council in regard to its activities.

This Act also provides for a framework for disaster risk management in Sri Lanka and addresses disaster management (DM) holistically, leading to a policy shift from response based mechanisms to a proactive approach towards Disaster Risk Management.

In terms of the Act following hazards come under the purview of Disaster Management:

  • Floods
  • Landslides
  • Industrial Hazards
  • Tsunami (Seismic Wave)
  • Earthquakes
  • Air Hazards
  • Fire
  • Epidemics
  • Explosions
  • Air Raids
  • Civil or Internal Strife
  • Chemical Accidents
  • Radiological Emergency
  • Oil Spills
  • Nuclear Disaster
  • Urban and Forest Fire
  • Coastal Erosion

In July 2005 the Disaster Management Centre (DMC) was established under the National Council for Disaster Management (NCDM) to be functional under H.E. the President.

In December 2005 a separate Ministry for Disaster Management was established under the Hon. Prime Minister. In February 2006 the Ministry for Disaster Management and Human Rights (M/DM&HR) was established with the subject of Human Rights listed under its purview. As per the gazette notification of February 2006 National Disaster Management Council, Disaster Management Centre and Department of Meteorology were placed within the purview of M/DM&HR. In 2010 National relief services Center was amalgamated with the Ministry of Disaster Management and Ministry was named as the Ministry of Disaster Management.

The DM functions implemented through the DMC according to gazette notification are as follows:


  1. Initiate and coordinate foreign aided projects for disaster mitigation, response and recovery
  2. Liaising with Ministries, Government authorities and agencies, private sector agencies, NGOs and INGOs and all other relevant agencies to ensure timely execution of such responsibility.
  3. Coordination and Management of relief activities pertaining to natural and man-made disasters.
  4. Coordinating awareness programs on natural disasters and man-made disasters
  5. Early warning systems
  6. Supervision of the activities of non-governmental organizations and social welfare voluntary agencies in relation to disaster management, provisions of relief and promotion of human rights
  7. Facilitation of and assistance to non-governmental organizations and social welfare voluntary agencies, in the fields of disaster management and human rights through countrywide Ministries, Departments and Public Corporations, Provincial Council, Local Authority Administration; and District, Division and Grama Niladhari administration; to enforce coordinate and monitor activities related to
    • Hazard Mapping and Risk Assessment
    • Information Management
    • Disaster mitigation
    • Early warning dissemination
    • Preparedness for effective response at disaster situations
    • Emergency Operations Management
    • Management of the post-disaster activities after a disaster

Call Center

General: +94 112 136 136
Emergency Operation Center:+94 112 136 222 /
+94 112 670 002
Fax: +94 11 2670079